Kenya is Teaching Me Than I Can Possibly Teach Them

We had to leave early to drive back to Nairobi to buy new coaching equipment. It was obvious upon arriving in Nariobi that the city has some serious money, when you look at the business buildings that have been built and some of the cars that are being driven around in the city. Traffic in the city was hectic, but we eventually made it. The shopping experience was a new experience for me, and I am not sure I can do it justice via text. In the end, we did manage to buy 15 balls, 40 cones and 12 bibs, the cost came to $500. Thankfully I received donations from 3 of the doctors who in traveled with and paid just over $100 myself to cover the remaining balance.
After that we were on our way to a school which was at the bottom of the Rift Valley, a 9KM drive down the mountainside to get into the valley and to the school. We were welcomed when we arrived by the assistant head teacher, the schools coach and other teachers at the school. All the children had uniforms on and the teachers were dressed in long white coats. With everyone wearing the same uniform the feeling of identity and commitment was obvious.
We had 20 female players and 38 boys, all of different ages. The ability levels were high, but the session was challenging with that amount of players, myself leading it and the 15 balls we had purchased. After a big group dynamic warm up, technical work in groups of 4, which for the most part they excelled in and small sided games (4 games of 6/7 aside) going on at once as a tournament were we really able to see the players express themselves.
After the small sided tournament the ladies played 10v10, a great game which was cheered on by the boys, and other students which came to watch. The match went to pennos and then sudden death pennos, there was one young lady in particular who had good ability and the biggest of hearts. After scoring a worldly free kick in the match, she ran off celebrating like she had scored the winner in the World Cup, it was an amazing sight. Unfortunately for her, her team came second in the penno shoot out and she burst into tears. Not only because of her ability, but also her effort and passion, we were able to somewhat lessen the blow by giving her a new pair of Adidas boots. What happened next just blew my mind…. Immediately after receiving her new boots, she gave her old ones to a younger boy who’s shoes were ripped! Such a selfless act!
After the ladies had played, the boys came on, 3 teams, first team to score or 10 minute game, the pace and tempo was incredible, the commitment is something to behold, how hard the boys tackle, how they sprint for every ball, how they get frustrated at themselves when really the fault is in the pitch and it’s lively surface, not the player himself. Two players stood out for me, one boy who calls himself “Santi” after the Arsenal player, he is the best player I have seen so far and would fit and excel in any academy I have worked in. Pace, ability, flair, creativity, he has it all…. And then Stevie, who I would call a technician, great composure and quality on the ball, and a wonderful young man, all while playing in green plastic plimsolls.
After the games had a presentation of new kit and donated boots to the players who their coaches and teachers decided deserved not only through their endeavor on the pitch but also in the class room, we then took on big photo of the group with the mountains in the back ground. A five hour coaching session, 58 players, plenty of smiles, and the sense I am perhaps learning more from being in Kenya than I can possibly teach.
A final note….we gave a boy a lift to his new home, he lost his old home in the recent violence in Kenya, he now walks to school each day, a 3 hour walk there and back, a 6 hour round trip. He does this every day, leaving his house at 4am to get to school on time… #inspirational

4 thoughts on “Kenya is Teaching Me Than I Can Possibly Teach Them

  1. I returned from my first trip to Kenya just 2 weeks ago. I was at a school in Nakuru so went through Naivasha. I am enjoying your stories because it takes me back there. Kenya is amazing. Especially the people. I am going back later this year because I fell in love with the country as it sounds like you are too 🙂

    • Thank you for your comment.

      Visiting Kenya really is a wonderful experience and I am grateful I have this opportunity. The people I am meeting are welcoming and have a natural football talent which is second to none.

  2. Keith Palmer says:

    I’ll never moan about lack of equipment ever again after reading of your efforts to buy kit. Back to the old day’s of jumpers for goalposts,classic!!

Leave a comment